Last futsal event in Poznań

Last futsal event in Poznań

European Universities Championship in Futsal 2015 concluded

After 8 days of competition, 92 matches at three sports hall, 22 men’s and 7 women’s teams from 14 countries, the 10th European Universities Futsal Championship 2015 has come to the end on August 9, 2015 in Poznan.

In women’s championship, the team of the University of Rouen after presenting the solidest disposition over the whole tournament claimed the title winning 5 out of 6 matches, including a thrilling match against Munster University, a future European vice-Champion. The podium was complemented with Ege University, which as the only team felt the taste of a victory against future 10th European Champion.


Matches - women

In men’s final the Siberian Federal University from Russia tried its best, nevertheless it was University of Applied Science VERN from Croatia who claimed the title of 10th European Universities Futsal Champion 2015.


Men's finals

At the official closing ceremony that followed the finals, the captain of University of Applied Science VERN raised the champions’ cup. Apart from the main award, Croatian player Vedran Matosevic was chosen to be the Most Valuable Player of competition. Another player, a representative of Sumy State University received the award for the best scorer with 14 goals. Oleg Pichugin, Siberian goalkeeper positively became the best player on his position. Moreover, Fair Play Cup was given to Siberian Federal University from Russian Federation. Individual players were decorated by official delegates such as: Arkadiusz Stasica, deputy mayor of City of Poznan, Marian Dymalski member of FISU Executive Committee or Tomasz Szponder, the president of Univeristy Sport Association in Poznan (AZS Poznan).


Speakers and awarders of the medals

In women’s category, the title of Most Valuable Player was given to Inês Cruz from Santerem University by the representatives of EUSA Arie Rosenzweig, The best scorer was Lena Gosewinkel from University of Munster, Germany awarded by Prof. Tomasz Łodygowski HM Rector of Poznan University of Technology. Another representative of German university, Kathrin Klimas was named the best goalkeeper of the competition and received official cup from Tomasz Aftański, EUSA technical delegate. The most fair play team was Rouen University decorated by Zdzisław Nowak, vice-president of Polish Football association.


Special awards

1. VERN University of Applied Sciences (CRO)
2. Siberian Federal University (RUS)
3. University of Paris Pantheon-Sorbonne (FRA)


Winners - men

1. University of Rouen (FRA)
2. University of Munster (GER)
3. Ege University (TUR)


Winners - women

Unbelievable tournament organised in Poznan was secured by over 70 volunteers that took care of almost 460 players, referees and delegates. Fans could not only watch matches live, at three just build up sports halls but all the matches were streamed online.

Although the 10th European Universities Futsal Championship is now over, the 11th edition will take place in Corum, Turkey in July 2017, and futsal will also be a core part of the European Universities Games 2016.